this is “fierce” on a cake.

Let’s start this blog with one of my favourite cakes to show off!

When I first started doing cake decorating, I only told a handful of people, one of them being my super good friend, Sachin. Because I was out of province at the time, the only way I could share my creations with people at home was through pictures. After sending some to Sachin, he wanted me to do a cake for his birthday. Me, being a good friend, decided to take on the challenge.

Should’ve been easy enough, right? No. He only gave two things to work with: he wanted a chocolate chip cookie cake and it had to be fierce. Yeah, no idea what to do at the time.

While I was working out of province, Sachin and I talked about pretty much everything. One day, he decided to get a gameboy emulator on his phone and play pokemon gold (I too am a fan of the first two generations of pokemon – but that’s it). He started with a cyndaquil (named it a rather juvenile but hilarious name, and we made inappropriate jokes about it). Basically, he really liked cyndaquil, which is how I got to the idea.

image

Chocolate chip cookie cake (vanilla sponge with chocolate chips); filled with raw cookie dough and a vanilla buttercream

I drew the cyndaquil in royal icing on parchment paper. Unfortunately, it was my first time doing this technique (I knew the theory behind it) and I was super impatient. I broke the original cyndaquil 😦

image

It broke shortly after I took this picture.

Also, the colours bled. I took whatever was salvagable (basically just the flames), positioned it on the cake, and then used it to redraw the rest of cyndaquil directly on the cake. It was tough, as i often question my artistic abilities, but managed to do it.

I had some leftover red and yellow royal icing, so i “threw” it onto the sides with my spatula and tried to not mix the red and yellow. I mean, orange was going to be an inevitable byproduct, but I wanted people to also see the reds and yellows.

image

I like to think the sides added to the fierceness.

In hindsight, piping “happy birthday Sachin” in cookie dough was probably not as good of an idea as i thought it was. I also didn’t colour it, so it was in the default cookie dough shade of brown.

Unfortunately, I was unable to attend Sachin’s birthday party, so I delivered this to him after his tax class. He was so ecstatic about it – I’ve never seen anyone so happy to receive cake. We did have a mini celebration though to commemorate his birthdy: chocolate ice cream and lunch.

After the party, Sachin and other mutual friends told me they really liked the cake, which made me super happy. However, now everyone knew what I could do… I did get another cake order after that. I know I planned to only do 2 cakes this turn, but she’s my first friend here in university and we’re still pretty good friends to this day, so I couldn’t say no. Her cake will be the topic of a future blog post.

I’m just happy that I was able to pull off a badass looking cake, and it is now a birthday cake Sachin will always remember!

(Cake completed Sept 20, 2013)

