the asian cake

I don’t know if there’s an actual name for this kind of cake – we call it the Asian cake or the T&T cake. It’s a sponge cake with a stabilized whipped cream, filled and topped with fruits. There’s probably a name for it…

When I was working out of province, I got a few requests to make Asian cake. After a failed attempt, I found a recipe that worked out in my favour. Also, it happened to be a friend I knew from university’s birthday, so I gave her this cake when we went out to sing k and drink. I’ve snuck in a number of cakes when going to sing k; the trick is to disguise the box as a present 😉

'Asian Cake' Sponge cake with a stabilized whipped cream, filled and topped with fruits.

‘Asian Cake’
Sponge cake with a stabilized whipped cream, filled and topped with fruits.

Unfortunately I was rushing and forgot to take a picture beforehand for my “portfolio”. I had to take one in the room, which was dark, but it survived the trip across downtown! I was afraid it was too hot outside for the whipped cream to survive, but surprisingly it held up. The fact that there was no humidity probably helped…

(May 2014)

Leave a Reply

