the cutest of mini cakes

I love the concept of mini cakes. They’re small and adorable, yet sizable enough to share. I bought four 3.5″ Ateco ring molds from Amazon and they are my favourite bakeware to use. However, I haven’t found many recipes specifically for mini cakes – I have been using regular cake recipes and guestimating the timing. Of the recipes I have found, this is one is my favourite. I usually do 1/3 of the recipe, which fills three 3.5″ ring molds. In a previous post, I tested them out with the above recipe. But I have continued to play with them to see what else I can do!

This is a combination post of a number of mini cakes I’ve done!

BUTTERFLIES ON MATCHA CHEESECAKES

Purple and silver chocolate butterflies on mini matcha cheesecakes

Silver chocolate butterfly on a mini matcha cheesecake

20131122_181242

Purple chocolate butterfly on a mini matcha cheesecake

The matcha cheesecake recipe I used was the first mini cake recipe I found, and it looked like something my friends would really enjoy. I actually don’t care much for cheesecake, but my friends do, and matcha is a well-liked flavour amongst them. I made the butterflies out of white chocolate and orange oil, and piped them a day in advance. I made several sets because I knew I was going to break some. During assembly, I put a merkins white chocolate disk in the centre, used more of the orange white chocolate to pipe a head and body, and then attached the wings to the body. I added three coloured dragees for extra sparkle. Picture above are two of the three cakes I made. I pearl dusted the wings – purple, silver, and green – to differentiate who gets which cake. Two of them served as birthday cakes, while the third went to one of my best friends, just because.

(November 2013)

STRAWBERRY SHORTCAKE

Strawberry shortcake

Strawberry shortcake

Now this is one of two mini strawberry shortcakes I made. The one pictured above was an extra leftover from two other shortcakes I was making for a friend’s birthday (which is in the background). It’s a standard strawberry shortcake, but I kept the cake in the ring mold for the same length of time as my 6″ pan. It turned out well and it was surprisingly easy to cut the mini cake into layers.

(January 2014)

CHEESECAKE REPRISE

Strawberry cheesecake

Strawberry cheesecake – it’s a mini cake, not a freakishly large strawberry

Chocolate espresso cheesecake

Chocolate espresso cheesecake

I made these cheesecakes again, from the recipe I linked above, and they’ve been coming out really nicely. The strawberry cheesecake was for done for a friend’s birthday. I’ve been giving cakes in lieu of buying things, and this was no exception, because cake tastes better (and I usually don’t know what to buy people…). The espresso chocolate cheesecake was done for another friend’s birthday – he ate one of the test ones and liked it enough to request it for his birthday. Because I only needed one of each cake at those times, there were extras that I gave away – both to first time tasters of my cake, and fortunately both loved them 🙂

(January, April 2014)

Now that I’m living at home with my lactose intolerant family, mini cheesecakes and strawberry shortcakes are no longer things I can make. Of course, I can still make regular cakes smaller, but for now, I’m working on some other desserts first. When I get a chance to though, I have a number of ideas to I want to incorporate on my upcoming mini cakes.

Leave a Reply

